HISTORICAL HOME TOURS AND EVENTS
Much of the needlework in the home was done by Margaret "Meme" Krumbhaar Shaffer ".
There are many collections in the home to include over 2000 books, 300 spoons, many plantation tokens, Louisiana Native American baskets, Newcomb Pottery, crystal and china, quilts, needlework, plus paintings and prints from such artists as A. J. Drysdale and John J. Audubon.
Ardoyne contains twenty-one rooms including seven bedrooms, four bathrooms and twelve fireplaces. The first floor boasts sixteen foot cove-molded pine ceilings with octagonal patterns of beaded beams. Two rooms hold massive mirrors, one originating from a riverboat and another from a famous New Orleans hotel.
In the entrance hall is the unique hand-stamped wallpaper and novel hand-painted staircase. Also throughout the home are the original chandeliers and Victorian Gothic Gasoliers. The dining room fireplace hosts a pair of unusual hand-carved wooden griffins.
Ardoyne is home to many original antiques, furniture and books from the Shaffer, Minor, Krumbhaar and Lapeyre families.
Here is a rich history with family ties to Stephen Minor (the last governor of the Louisiana Territory under Spanish rule), Robert E. Lee, Nellie Custis and George Washington. Visitors may recognize an original portrait of our first president similar to the Gilbert Stuart portrait on the one dollar bill.
Ardoyne house operated as the
center of the Sugarcane Plantation.
Migrant workers of German, Italian and African decent were the main workforce of the land and would receive plantation tokens as pay.
This plantation is one of the first post Civil War operations and is an example of how the South transitioned from slavery to the Industrual Revolution. Members of the Shaffer family are still involved with the sugarcane industry today.
house is set in a cluster
of live oaks on several acres northwest of Houma, Louisiana, on little Bayou Black. The land was purchased by Louisiana state senator, John Dalton Shaffer, in 1888 and the home was completed in 1894.
The home was built by architects, W. C. Williams and Bros. of New Orleans of cypress and pine taken from the property and milled in St. Louis. This stately home, named after a Scottish castle, is on the National Register of Historic Places.